a blog for the beauty obsessed…

My at Home “Creperie”

1 Comment

For some reason, the word “crepe” has been a recent word around my house, not to mention in my mouth. From my mom and I going out to get them for a special Sunday breakfast to eating amazing ones on our Spring Break, I decided that I was going to be frugal and learn how to make them myself. After a few tries (maybe involving some banging of spoons in frustration), I finally mastered the method to the madness, and let me tell you, it was well worth it! Here is how I made them…

French Crepes

Makes about 3 crepes, 1 per person.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1 cup of milk

Directions:

1. Preheat a  8 inch skillet on low heat.

2. Prepare the batter. In a large bowl, add the flour and melted butter.

3. Crack the egg into a small bowl and lightly beat just to break up the yolk. Add this to the flour and butter mixture.

4. Gradually add the milk into the batter, whisking as you pour. When you finish, the batter should be very runny, almost too watery, but don’t worry.

5. Spray the preheated pan with non-stick cooking spray. If you don’t have cooking spray, you can pour a little oil on a paper towel and rub it over the pan, or you can simply use butter.

6. Spoon a ladle full of batter into the center of the pan. Pick up the pan and swirl the batter around until it has fully covered the pan.

7. Cook the crepe until it is lightly golden on one side. If you have a hard time getting a spatula underneath it, you have not cooked it long enough. If you have fully cooked it, the spatula should slide easily underneath and the crepe as a whole should not flop down when you lift it out of the pan to flip it. Finally, flip it until the next side is brown. This shouldn’t take as long because the other side has been cooked when you were cooking the other side.

8. After you have flipped your crepe over, add the fillings that you want. If you don’t feel comfortable doing this, it is no big deal if you take the crepe out of the pan and then fill it, but when you fill it in the pan, the filling has a chance to get warm. Finally, serve and enjoy your crepe (or hard work, however you view it)!

I hope that this recipe works out for you. Trust me, it took me about three tries to actually get it right, so don’t give up. If you have any problems, just leave me a comment and I will reply to it. Thanks and I hope this helps!

 

 

One thought on “My at Home “Creperie”

  1. Wow, looks fantastic! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

